Category: Uncategorized

The Popes were originally formed by Shane MacGowan, although they no longer record or perform with him. This is a dub version by Claremont 56 label boss Paul Murphy, aka Mudd, of a song called “Bastards” from their last album. The Idjut Boys have also done a version on the A-side which is just as good. Two fairly similar edits, I think Mudd’s “Moule Frite” mix from the B-side just wins out.

Copies are on sale straight from the label. There’s a digital release also from the usual places.
Stream: The Popes – Bastards (Mudd’s Moule Frite Mix)


Bjørn Torske‘s new album “Kokning” has just come out on Oslo label Smalltown Supersound. There’s some great tracks on here, this is one of them. The CD version of this is out now, and the limited 2xLP vinyl is available from the label’s mailorder.

Download: Bjørn Torske – Nitten Nitti

The second 12″ disco thing for today is a re-edit of a 70’s Spanish one-hit wonder.

This tropical disco tune by Jeanette was the main theme of a Cannes winning 1976 movie called “Cria Cuervos”. This extended edit is by Spanish producer Nelue from Asturias. It’s the first release on Matt Moroder’s new Little Leaf label. Moroder was one half of the Glossy disco edits duo with Tensnake.

I think the promo for this release sums the track up: “Already an unusual mixture in its original form – breathy Lolita-esque vocals gel ingeniously with a more 60s bubblegum orchestration of horns, big beats and folky guitar – Nelue does a great job with subtle loops and additional bubbly synth overdubs while keeping the sing-a-long charm intact”.

Back after a summer break with a disco / housey one from Japan, that I heard on Tim Sweeney’s Beats In Space radio show last week.

Kento Sasaki from Tokyo has been releasing music as one half of Force Of Nature for almost a decade now, most recently on local label Mule Musiq.

His new solo project is called The Backwoods, and last month, his debut effort, the “Sunstream / Midnight Run” single was released on another Tokyo label, Ene Records.

His self-titled full-length album is being released today on CD in Japan only. (The cheapest place I’ve found to get it on import is CDJapan. It comes to 2,700 yen, or about €25.) A download-only release will follow in Europe in August. (Samples are up on the label’s soundcloud page now)

Enerec005 AA:The Backwoods / Midnight Run by enetokyo

We just had a post on San Fran’s Secret Seven Records label a few days ago, but they sent on this and I’ve been listening to it a lot and can’t help posting about it. It’s an LP by cult psych-folk eccentric Michael Yonkers, released only once in 1974, privately on his own record label. S7R are re-releasing it for the first time after 36 years, and again it’s a vinyl-only affair.

500 remastered copies of “Goodby Sunball” are being released on July 7th, below is one of the album highlights for me, “Angel Of The Snow”. The LP can be pre-ordered now from the label.

Download: Michael Yonkers – Angel Of The Snow

I came across the Secret Furry Hole label from Italy a few months ago, when they put out this very nice post-shoegaze/ambient/drone mini CD-R by ex-Slowdive drummer Simon Scott. They had previously released similarly limited 3″ discs from “modern classical” luminaries Hauschka and Peter Broderick.

Simon Scott has been involved in a lot of projects lately, including co-writing tracks for The Sight Below’s latest album “It All Falls Apart“, and he’s also one half of Seavault with Antony Ryan from ISAN (have a listen to their “Cornfields” track). Later in 2010, he has a 33 minute composition called “Silenne” coming out on Belgium sleep label Slaapwel, and a 7″ recorded with Nils Frahm on Sonic Pieces in September.

This release from Simon Scott is called Nivalis, it comes in an interesting foldout sleeve (which took me a while to figure out how to open), and the CD runs as one 16-minute track. Have a listen to an excerpt below (this is the second section of the track). This is available now from SFH.

And today SFH have released something quite different. The promo from the label describes this as “a manic dandy banging on a broken piano, crossing synthetic beats with walls of gaze-pop electro”, and like “xiu xiu meeting tiga in a 50’s strip club”.

Wolther Goes Stranger is the solo project for Luca Mazzieri, from northern Italy, and he’s a former member of a post-rock band.

Have a listen below, this five-track EP is out now from the label and limited to 50 copies.

San Francisco’s Secret Seven Records label have a new single-sided 12″ EP from The Sandwitches coming out on July 13th.

The Sandwitches are Heidi Alexander and vocalist Grace Cooper and have one album to date, the nicely titled “How to Make Ambient Sadcake” from late last year, which drew comparisons to Stevie Nicks among others.

The new EP is called “Duck Duck Goose!” and below is the haunting opening track “Stardust”, not too far removed from some of the material on singer Grace Cooper’s excellent solo project cassette release on the same label a few months ago.

The new release sounds great, it’s limited to 500 copies on vinyl, and can be pre-ordered from the label now.

Download: The Sandwitches – Stardust (11.3MB, 320kbps)

Television Keeps Us Apart are Carl and Axel from Stockholm and Linköping in Sweden, making music that sounds a lot like their fellow countrymen The Radio Dept.

Their debut album, “A Slight Change Of Light” comes in at under 25 minutes and was released in June 2009 on a CD-R from Series Two Records. The album can downloaded from their own site, but the CD is only $8 including shipping from the label. There were 300 copies made, and there’s still some left.

The band tell us they’re currently recording a new EP, which should be released later this summer.

This is the closing track on their album, “Can’t Let Go”.

Download: Television Keeps Us Apart – Can’t Let Go

Nouveaunoise – Goni

Nouveaunoise are Nial Conway and Conor Gaffney from Galway. They’ve been around since 2006 and their first full release since then is their debut album “Paraphrase Accolade” out this Friday, June 11th on their own Nouveaunoise Records.

They’ve put a three-track album preview up on their bandcamp page for download, and all three tracks are fantastic organic electronica, reminding me alot of Four Tet’s great “Rounds” album.

Have a listen to Goni below, catch them on tour around Ireland in July, and look out for their album when it’s released this Friday.

Londoners The Leaf Library have been around since 2006, when they released the now almost untraceable EP1 on Hi-Beat Records.

The first time I came across The Leaf Library was two years ago after hearing the ISAN remix of their “Losing Places” single on Rob Da Bank’s show on BBC Radio 1. Five months later it was released on a nice 10″ by Dutch label The Hooter Listens and it turned out that original version was just as nice. Melancholic and melodic, the first half gives way after about three minutes to a great instrumental Stereolab or even krautrock style workout for the remainder of the seven minute track.

This year, they’ve released a two-track digital single “Activity / Carousel” on French label BEKO (scroll across to #42), and they’ve completed their debut album “Different Activites, Similar Diversions”. Unfortunately it’s still unsigned but will hopefully be released sometime this year, and very generously they have the whole album streaming now from their Soundcloud page. Have a listen.

For now, back to “Losing Places”:
Losing Places by The Leaf Library